1. Funding Info
  2. Funding for startups
  3. Social enterprise funding/impact investing

Social enterprise funding/impact investing

What is social enterprise funding/impact investing?

Impact investing (also referred to as social enterprise funding) is finance provided to companies and organisations that generate social and environmental impact alongside a financial return.
Below is a list of funders who provide this type of finance.
  Name of funder Website
7a074a3c-de65-4e07-9355-268d83d0328e-s Accion Venture Lab https://www.accion.org/venturelab
848ace6a-1ab8-45d2-af76-1f4c5e6831f8-s Africa Enterprise Challenge Fund (AECF)  http://www.aecfafrica.org/
a111daef-4e5f-4301-99d2-ed9f016de950-s AfriLabs Hub http://afrilabs.com/
9f8a31fc-8d74-4460-ac25-0257bbbf2385-s Better Ventures http://www.better.vc/
1bf31ade-e55e-47af-9d4b-8cd0c5ca0261-s Capital For Development https://www.c4dpartners.com/
75013603-5c64-4094-9abc-dba673110776-s Capria Ventures  http://capria.vc
4705cc77-c1d2-49e4-b743-5b15c872e1e7-s Conservation International  http://www.conservation.org/
d6b1d00a-7fb6-4c41-8ed9-ba482eb5cb36-s DGMT https://dgmt.co.za/
70b1d564-3dcd-4535-864e-add389bcb995-s E2 Investments http://www.esquared.org.za/
afa9f081-e0a9-4444-ac39-8f51f3206eab-s Endeavor South Africa  http://endeavor.co.za/
e45b9a73-350c-4c0f-b096-493d353baff9-s Engeli Beyond Investment https://www.engeli.co.za/
ade2a02c-2271-4344-87d1-7ea22bbfc17a-s FIRE  http://fireafrica.org/
1663d17b-a010-4930-8f81-9ba8e41e488c-s GAWA Capital Impact http://www.gawacapital.com/
c949761e-2d82-4944-a360-c5c5b212db70-s Global Greengrants Fund  https://www.greengrants.org/
21e528c5-c2e8-466c-a616-c8cc9369527d-s Global Partnerships  http://www.globalpartnerships.org/
383dfb53-8923-419d-ab03-be4cebf739bf-s Goodwell Investments https://www.goodwell.nl/fund/umunthu/
6a3e956b-6692-4b21-bb8b-836a95da9398-s Grassroots Capital Management  https://www.grassrootscap.com/
1dd7c4ac-a015-49bb-858c-036c39d7e6a2-s GrowthAfrica  http://growthafrica.com/
e90407d0-d66a-4039-8800-1715c30889fd-s Impact Giving http://www.impactgivingnow.org
2eea3317-6af9-4cfd-a41f-4ccdc833a6bf-s-1 Impact Amplifier http://www.impactamplifier.co.za/
4705cc77-c1d2-49e4-b743-5b15c872e1e7-s Impact Finance Management S.A. http://www.impact-finance.com/
2f2fd483-20b3-4b56-b19b-57b0a373b605-s Investisseurs & Partenaires  http://www.ietp.com
470bfd05-1d87-4c5f-b069-d4827fb1d93e-s Leapfrog Investments  http://www.leapfroginvest.com
6b973130-3e18-44e3-a310-6e1753c077ee-s-1 LGT Venture Philanthropy https://www.lgtvp.com/en/
66efac51-84d3-43e6-b1f7-edb3e8bed79b-s LifeCo UnLtd SA http://www.lcu-sa.com/#WhatWeDo
143fe129-00e3-4d2d-9ffc-7b2343303a3d-s Mandala Capital http://www.mandala-capital.com/
9da74cc0-5016-4cf7-98ec-5dad3e8a70d1-s Mango Fund  http://www.mangofund.org/
238010ca-9489-4b65-bf74-38dd50e01f18-s Mustard Seed http://mustardseed.vc/
4a0b6c93-3393-484e-a969-f35f3ac7f9b9-s Mzansi Golden Economy http://www.dac.gov.za/taxonomy/term/379
9a480641-bfb1-4dac-9f90-af0a74a547e6-s National Development Agency http://www.nda.org.za/home/Grant_Funding-9.html
bafe5386-de7c-40b8-bb19-ad89de0684ed-s National Lotteries Commission http://www.nlcsa.org.za/arts-and-culture/
bafe5386-de7c-40b8-bb19-ad89de0684ed-s National Lotteries Commission http://www.nlcsa.org.za/charity/
bafe5386-de7c-40b8-bb19-ad89de0684ed-s National Lotteries Commission http://www.nlcsa.org.za/miscellaneous/
bafe5386-de7c-40b8-bb19-ad89de0684ed-s National Lotteries Commission http://www.nlcsa.org.za/sport-and-recreation/
ed2e3230-23f8-4b51-9820-e43459b490ed-s Omidyar Network https://www.omidyar.com/our-work/impact-investing
0f5e8d62-54a6-478c-b14f-6ef5b1e66bf2-s Open Society Foundation https://www.opensocietyfoundations.org/how-we-work/how-we-fund
f6512047-5853-443b-a39c-81186af94198-s Phakamani Impact Capital http://phakamanifunds.com/
b164273e-1386-4159-869c-5a02522f026b-s Root Capital  http://www.rootcapital.org/
7afd4de1-38a8-4c9d-9871-c085b5b36f5c-s-1 Seedstars Africa https://www.seedstars.com/
7afd4de1-38a8-4c9d-9871-c085b5b36f5c-s-1 Seedstars World http://www.seedstarsworld.com/
4f4d3be4-7e76-4ee0-8189-019c061b4ca5-s SEF https://www.sef.co.za/
c4de83a5-bf89-477a-b9f2-76bc8c9808b8-s (1)-1 Shared Interest  http://www.sharedinterest.org/
0a015097-9e62-4281-b411-c4ddd3ce4e6d-s SilverStreet Capital http://www.silverstreetcapital.com/
b0ce702f-5018-4a22-b7da-1221ac572d61-s SME FUNDS CAPITAL http://www.smefunds.com/
a0800418-97e0-4c37-927f-5f56584f1f8e-s-1 The Tony Elumelu Foundation Entrepreneurship Programme http://tonyelumelufoundation.org/
0f496483-fe1c-4a77-a553-d842d9ffe78f-s-1 Total http://www.totalimpactcapital.com/
8e1640e1-5e61-4eea-9f29-d1e60c66f59e-s Tshikululu Social Investments  http://www.tshikululu.org.za/
6fc624ec-42bc-4366-b0fd-682f8da98616-s-1 U.S. Fund for UNICEF Bridge Fund  https://www.unicefusa.org/unicef-bridge-fund
c773ea2b-632c-446e-b296-380c46373d68-s-1 Vital Capital Fund  http://www.vital-capital.com/
3781e104-6092-43ba-9631-30a376ac894e-s-1 Wharton Social Impact  https://socialimpact.wharton.upenn.edu
580b79c5-466b-41b0-a119-0e20159c474a-s-1 Women in Tech Africa  http://www.womenintechafrica.com